“Macaroni cheese with bacon and mushrooms” from “Good Things to Eat”

Kirstin: I realised today when I was making this that I subliminally wanted to make an Italian version of this.

Tom: What do you mean?

Kirstin: I used pancetta instead of bacon because I forgot to buy any and I almost used mozzarella instead of cheddar.

 

Tom: Well, it was yum. Macaroni cheese can be all liquify and gooey. But this was more like frittata — it was just the crispy bits.

Phil: I thought it was very nice indeed. Very savoury.

Tom: The addition of bacon or pancetta was brilliant. I don’t it’s a proper meal unless there’s meat.

Kirstin: I made it this morning because I had to go out to buy stuff to develop film. So I’ve been driving round south London with lots of chemicals in the car. But I knew I could slam this in the oven when I’d done the school run and the swimming and all the rest of it.

Tom: The film processing! I haven’t done that since 1994. But I remembered how to do it.

Kirstin: And now you are off to play the drums with Nick and Phil, which you haven’t done since 1994 either. Are we regressing? I even put on Prefab Sprout…

Tom: Well, I like the combination. Macaroni cheese, HC-110 developer, Zildjian cymbals.

Kirstin: I was making dinner and putting out wine, while you were mixing your chemical potions.

Tom: I least I didn’t pour the wine into the film tank.

Kirstin: There is that. And I would like to add that it’s difficult to make macaroni cheese look as yummy as it tasted. Somehow Lucas has managed it in its book, but I struggled. That said, would you like me to make this again?

Tom and Phil: Yes please!

“Macaroni cheese with bacon and mushrooms” from “Good Things to Eat”

2 thoughts on ““Macaroni cheese with bacon and mushrooms” from “Good Things to Eat”

Leave a Reply

