“Pollo Casalingo al Vino Biano” from “Two Greedy Italians”

I really hate the name of this recipe in English, but I’ll translate it for you anyway because I want to be a Full Service Blogger to you. The name of it in English is “Housewives’ Chicken in White Wine and Vinegar.” See? I told you. Housewives chicken. What year is it? 1954??

Apologies to the readers, but I have no dialogue for this recipe. However, given how boring the dish is, I don’t think anyone would have anything interesting to say. I could easily see the conversation quickly heading into “Who will replace Carlo Ancelotti terrority?” with concern from the Chelsea fan and bitter recriminations from the Arsenal fan at the table. But I digress.

I hate to say it, but this is the first bum recipe from the book. The rest have all been very good. This doesn’t taste bad, it’s just terminally boring. It could easily be classified as, “Food to fill me up but isn’t memorable.” Maybe it could have been improved by adding some hearty herbs to it, like rosemary or thyme.

Basically, all you have to do is get 1.2 kilos of chicken pieces, and add white wine, shallots, carrots, celery, lemon slices and some other bits to a casserole and let it cook for about 50 minutes. Honestly, it could not be easier. From the standpoint of effort, it’s a winner, but that’s the only good thing I could say about it.

((I think even the picture is a bit boring.))Maybe my problem with it stemmed from the name. “Housewives chicken.” Are you kidding me? It says in the introduction that farmers’ wives would prepare all the ingredients in the morning, then go out and work in the fields all day, then return home to cook dinner. I’m pretty sure that a woman who works in the fields all day could not be called a “housewife.” A “field wife,” maybe. A “housewife,” no.

I won’t be making this again, but this is only the second time during the month that I’ve felt like that (the other being the risotto with balsamic vinegar). We’ve enjoyed this month thoroughly so far and have eaten like (Italian) kings.

I just have to learn to stay away from the recipes with sexist titles. I should have known better.

“Pollo Casalingo al Vino Biano” from “Two Greedy Italians”

2 thoughts on ““Pollo Casalingo al Vino Biano” from “Two Greedy Italians”

  1. Simon Baker says:

    I love the Two Greedy Italians TV series and I was given the book for Christmas. Last week I cooked the Sea Bream with olives, tomatoes etc. recipe which I pretty much have cooked for years & it’s always great. However tonight I decided to cook the Housewives Chicken with wine & vinegar, I did it exactly by the book. I even left it to marinade throughout the day before I cooked it as if I was a house wife working out in the fields! I have to say my dish took nearly two hours to cook instead of 50mins before the juices had finally been absorbed into the chicken. I had left it on a low gas hob in a large saucepan with the lid ajar to let the steam out. For the last half hour I had to take the lid off to help. Ten minutes before taking it off, having tasted a little and finding the dish very bland, I added some dried herbs. This recipe was really disappointing and I had only wished I had done one of my recipes or even Jamie Oliver’s Hunters Chicken, which I have to change too to make it better. This Housewives Chicken could have done with garlic, more shallots, herbs, stock, and it definitely could have done with the chicken & vegetables being browned off first. I dont know about housewives chicken but more like lazy housewives chicken!

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      As I said in the post, I took issue with the name because I’m not sure that a woman working in the fields all day could be called a “housewife.” A field worker, sure, but not a housewife.

      I agree that it was far too bland and needed some herbs to make it more interesting.Browning off the chicken first is a good idea, and the addition of garlic and more shallots is never a bad thing, in my opinion.

      It is, however, one of the few bad recipes in that book, though, so don’t despair. Just don’t make it again.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

