“Pasta al Limone E Basilico” from “Two Greedy Italians”

How’s your Italian coming along, having read this blog this month? I made– but maybe you’ve deduced this already– Pasta with Lemon and Basil.

Maureen: So this is spaghetti with lemon, basil and tomatoes. What do you think?

Nicholas (8): It’s too sour!

Andrew (11): The lemon masks the taste of the other things, I think.

Maureen: It’s possible I did the lemon all wrong. The recipe said to take an unwaxed lemon “cut into small segments,” which I took to mean to slice it into sections as thinly as possible, including the skin. But now that I’m thinking about it, it probably meant to cut off all of the skin and then slice the remaining lemon up, like Nigella does for her green beans, which I make all the time. Sorry about that. You don’t have to eat the lemon slices.

Maureen: Would you like me to make it again?

Andrew: Yes, but without the lemon slices.

Nicholas: I would like for you to make it again, but with no lemon at all.

Maureen: Putting aside the lemon problem, I really like this. It was quick and it tastes of a summer’s day, with the basil, lemon and tomatoes. I will make it again and try to do it right the next time.

Cook’s Notes: If anyone can better explain what they mean by cutting it up into segments, I’m all ears. I do think I have to take the skin off first, though, unwaxed or no. However, there’s a little bit leftover, which I’m going to make into a Frittata di Maccheroni, which I’m REALLY looking forward to.


“Pasta al Limone E Basilico” from “Two Greedy Italians”

9 thoughts on ““Pasta al Limone E Basilico” from “Two Greedy Italians”

      1. Maureen Stapleton says:

        The recipe already calls for the zest and juice of one lemon, then you add the segments in addition to that. Even with my lemon problem, it made it really nice and lemony and reminded me of lemon and pepper pasta (a crime against gastronomy, no doubt) I used to buy in the U.S.

        When I try this again, what I’ll probably do is take a lemon, cut off all of the skin, and then divide the rest into segments and put that in. I’m definitely going to make it again, though. It was a winner.

  1. Lara says:

    Can you start posting the actual recipes so I can see exactly what it is you’re talking about? I like the dialogue too!

      1. Maureen Stapleton says:

        We always look for links for other sites with the recipes on them and post them. Unfortunately, for this book, the BBC (nor anyone else for that matter) has put them up, it would appear.

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      Thanks Garrett, I will. At the moment, we’re pretty busy making some good things from “Good Things to Eat” but if I have a night soon when I need to make something quickly, I’ll try again and let you know.

Leave a Reply

