“Cupcakes and Curries” – our verdict

Anna: You and Maureen have done very well with the cake-baking this month. As you thought you would, being two expert bakers.  I’m afraid my only effort was the Blueberry and Sour Cream cake, which was delicious, and will be made again.  But unfortunately life got the better of me though and the time for cupcake-baking was allusive.   I’m sure the day will come soon when I’ll be glad to have the book to use though. I’m definitely going to try the vanilla cupcakes…maybe for Peter’s birthday in a few weeks.

Kirstin: Ooo…you could try the salty chocolate cake for his birthday. I never got around to making that one; it was the Cake that Got Away! But oh I did love the mojito cakes. And the vanilla cupcakes recipe I know I will use forever now. In fact, I’ve enjoyed baking so much this month that I have moved my Kitchen Aid properly onto a surface in the kitchen.

Anna: Really?

Kirstin: Well, there’s something about baking in April. That said, I loved that book so much I know I will be dipping into it throughout the year. And even though I wasn’t sure I liked the way the chapters were themed (by season and Valentine’s day etc), I loved it by the end of the month. It’s a wonderful, wonderful book.

Anna: What did you think to the Curries book? Would you make anything from it again?

Kirstin: I only made one recipe but it was so good, so very good that I will make it again. And I know that if I ever need to make a curry that it is definitely the book to use.

Anna: As I feared, whilst the recipes taste great – and I think we all agree that they did – they take an AGE to make. And lots of different pans. And spice grinders.  I want to make more of her recipes, but they are definitely weekend dishes. Not a curry to russle up after work. I think I was hoping this book would be different from the other’s of hers that I have, but sadly not.

Kirstin: I guess you can’t make a curry in a hurry!

Anna: So I’m handing over to you and Maureen for next month’s book. Unfortunately Peter’s going to be the master chef in our house due to my work schedule, and it’s best for us all if he sticks to what he does best. Which is a shame, as I’m very excited by the book.  I’ll have to come round to dinner…. See you in June!

“Cupcakes and Curries” – our verdict

2 thoughts on ““Cupcakes and Curries” – our verdict

  1. Now I want to make curry and cupcakes… immediately 🙂 (that would make an interesting breakfast combo though…) You’ve definitely convinced me to get the Cake Days cookbook and it out with my own cook club!!

    1. annastamour says:

      We never did make curries and cupcakes at the same time, so let us know if you do and what the verdict is! Look forward to reading your review of Cake Days, remember to post us a link…..

Leave a Reply

