Vanilla Cupcakes from The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days.

Tom: So, what did we all think of the cupcakes?

Jenny: They were so lovely after all those hot-cross buns. I’ve been living on hot-cross buns for two days.

Kirstin: So Miles has been asking me why it is called Good Friday?

Jenny: It’s really Bad Friday. It’s really bad and sad. It’s the saddest day of the year.

Kirstin: Was Jesus precipitating his trip to the cross? Did he know what he was doing when he went to The Temple?

Jenny: Of course he did.

Kirstin: I thought these cupcakes were moister than Nigella’s recipe. And I downloaded the app to learn to do the frosting (thank you Kathryn for the tip!). But I couldn’t do her swirl. I watched it five or six times, and I tried, but the swirl was not happening.

Tom: Her icing was stiffer. I think you need stiffer icing to do the swirl.

Kirstin: She has this whole thing where you beat it slower to start off with and then you speed up once it’s all mixed up. I will be doing these cupcakes from now on. Not Nigella’s.

Simon: Is there a difference between frosting and icing?

Kirstin: I think frosting has more butter. And I have rearranged the kitchen so I can do more baking. The Kitchenaid now lives on the surface!

Jenny: But how can a cupcake recipe differ? Aren’t they all the same?

Kirstin: No, this one has more milk! And it has plain flour, not self-raising flour.

Simon: I like the Easter eggs on top.

Kirstin: That was the only bit I didn’t make!

Vanilla Cupcakes from The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days.

3 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes from The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days.

  1. J says:

    I’ve just made these to, delicious aren’t they! It’s definitely the recipe I’ll be going to in the future, sorry Nigella!

Leave a Reply

