“Grasshopper Pie” from “The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days”

Maureen: We’re having Grasshopper Pie today. I think this is something my mom made a lot of when we were growing up, but I’m equally sure she probably used jello to make it. Maybe I shouldn’t admit to the world that Mom used jello as an ingredient.

Tim: Why not? It was the 1970s in America. Everybody did.

Maureen: Nicholas wanted to have it because it’s his favourite colour– green. Kirstin tried to make a similar thing for us back in October from Nigella Lawson’s Kitchen, but she couldn’t find the liqueurs anywhere in London. We had devil’s food cake instead, which was pretty good. I finally found an online source for the liqueurs, but we never made it. On to this grasshopper pie. What does everyone think?

Andrew (11): This looks mouth-wateringly good.

Nicholas (7): This has got to be one of the best ones of the month!

Andrew: This is very, very, very good.

Nicholas: I’d give it 10 very goods and 10 stars as well.

Maureen: Well, I’m not surprised. It is green, your favourite colour. Though I added three times as much food colouring as the recipe called for, and it still isn’t bright green. It’s more subtle.

Nicholas: It’s not just because it’s green that I like it. I like the mint, and I like that it has a hint of chocolate.

Andrew: I like the mint and the chocolate together. But I would have liked it more if you hadn’t put the whipped cream on top. I didn’t like that.

Tim: I think it’s a little bit weird.

Maureen: Do you mean it’s not bringing you back to your 1970s American childhood? Would you want me to make it again?

Nicholas: Yes!

Andrew: Yes!

Tim: No. It brings back too many memories of jello, and jello in pie form. It was nice but it reminds me too much of that.

“Grasshopper Pie” from “The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days”

4 thoughts on ““Grasshopper Pie” from “The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days”

    1. Just found your blog, love it. I recently purchased the hummingbird bakery cake days but have yet to start baking from it, can’t wait though.

      I’ve never had Grasshopper Pie but it looks and sounds yummy!

      Maria

      1. Maureen Stapleton says:

        Really glad you like it, Maria. We’ve really been enjoying the Hummingbird cookbook this month. I’ve got another batch of Whoopie Pies (of a chocolate chip variety) in the oven as I type this.

  1. Maureen Stapleton says:

    It was lovely. We finished off the rest of it yesterday.

    The other thing to know about this recipe (and indeed any of the Hummingbird recipies that call for a crumb crust) is that I think they got the ratio of biscuits to butter wrong. I had to add another 100 grams or so of biscuits to the mixture. If I hadnt’t, it would have been this big chocolately mess of chocolate gloop. It might have firmed up in the refrigerator, but I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

