“Sea Bass & Crispy Pancetta, Sweet Potato Mash, Asian Greens, 1-Minute Berry Ice Cream, Sparkling Lemon Ginger Drink” from “Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals”

Time Taken: 49′ 11″

Mitigating Circumstances: At 9’41”, while chopping the garlic (my crusher isn’t as good as Jamie’s), a piece of garlic and/or chilli flew up into my eye and lodged into my contact lens. Despite my devotion to getting to 30 minutes uninterrupted, I had to turn the timer off and go scream due to the excruciating pain wash my eye out with cold water. However, my devotion to trying to beat the 30-minute marker is now apparent. I returned to the kitchen, and worked through the pain, but I believe the accident slowed me down for the remainder of the meal.

This link takes you to a copy of this recipe.

Tim: I think it’s all pretty good. As you know, I’m not a huge fan of sweet potatoes, but sweet potatoes are all the rage these days.

Maureen: Would you eat the sweet potatoes again?

Tim: If I had to. But I like the vegetables quite a lot. It’s a nice Asian combination.

Maureen: Heading into asparagus season, it’s a nice different way to make asparagus, rather than the usual lemon and butter.

Tim: I like how the broccoli florets absorb the soy sauce. What did you think, boys?

Andrew (11): I liked the fish a lot. I’m not so sure about the bacon or the sweet potatoes, but the vegetables are really nice.

Maureen: What about the drink, which I think is another completely superfluous addition to the meal?

Andrew: I loved it! Did you use the out-of-date Sprite?

Tim: No, she used the out-of-date lemonade.

Maureen: I don’t think lemonade can expire. It’s one of those things we could take into the bunker with the canned goods when the end of the world comes. (Editor’s Note: Lemonade does actually have an expiration date. However, the one used had an expiry of 03/11, so we were OK. Unless that was 1911, instead of 2011.) What do you think, Nicholas?

Nicholas (7): The fish is in the middle (Regular readers know this actually means he doesn’t like it, but he’s too polite to say so). The sweet potatoes are in the middle, trending down. The vegetables are good. The drink is eccellente! Which is Italian for excellent.

Tim: It took 39 minutes.

Maureen: Honestly, this book is going to kill me. I think I probably could have done it in under 30 minutes if you had helped me.

Tim: That’s probably true.

Andrew: They should call it Jamie’s 30-plus minute meals, or Jamie’s Meals.

Maureen: Jamie’s Meals would be good because then there wouldn’t be any expectations. And I wouldn’t have to kill myself to get it done quickly at every meal.

Nicholas: What happened while you were cooking Mom?

Maureen: I got chilli in my eye. It hurt. A lot.

Nicholas: You should wear protective eye wear when you’re cooking.

Andrew: Or safety goggles.

Tim: That could be arranged.

Andrew: This dessert is delicious! And healthy as well.

Nicholas: This is really good!

Maureen: What do you like about it?

Nicholas: When it touches my tongue, it feels like it’s tasty.

Andrew: When it touches my tongue, all the exquisite tastes burst into all shapes and sizes.

Tim: When it touches my tongue, it tastes like a smoothie.

Andrew: That’s a marvellous observation, Dad.

Maureen: I like the mint. Jamie uses a lot of fresh herbs in his recipes. They’re really loving me over at the Creaky Shed these days.

For this recipe, we decided we would time how long it takes to clean up. Guess what? It takes more than 30 minutes to tidy up as well.

Tidy Up Time: 31′ 04″

“Sea Bass & Crispy Pancetta, Sweet Potato Mash, Asian Greens, 1-Minute Berry Ice Cream, Sparkling Lemon Ginger Drink” from “Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals”

2 thoughts on ““Sea Bass & Crispy Pancetta, Sweet Potato Mash, Asian Greens, 1-Minute Berry Ice Cream, Sparkling Lemon Ginger Drink” from “Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals”

    1. Maureen Stapleton says:

      I’m not really sure I could carry off the look of protective goggles, but thanks for the offer. Honestly that chilli temporarily blinded me. Maybe Nicholas is on to something when he says spicy is bad!

Leave a Reply

