“Cauliflower Macaroni” from “Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals”

Time Taken: 56 minutes

Nicholas (7): It’s FINALLY dinner. I thought this was supposed to be Jamie’s 30 minute meals, but it’s really Jamie’s one hour meals.

Tim: But who’s counting?

Maureen: I am, given how stressed out I am in trying to get it done in 30 minutes. Maybe by the end of the month I’ll be able to do at least one in 30 minutes, but it’s not this one.

Tim: What do you think held you up?

Maureen: My biggest problem was the amount of time it took to stone the nectarines. That took forever, and I only stoned six, instead of the 18 called for in the recipe. Had I done the full 18, this definitely would have taken more than an hour.

Maureen: What do you think? I really like it. I like that you stumble across cauliflower, which suddenly makes you feel healthy and virtuous, because you’re eating your vegetables.

Tim: It’s also not as cheesy as the one you usually make.

Maureen: Nothing is as cheesy as the one I usually make, because that recipe calls for a pound of cheddar cheese. So good, and yet, so bad. So maybe this one is healthier. What do you think?

Tim: I like it. Is there chili in there?

Maureen: No, that’s the pancetta.

Tim: Did you fry the capers for the salad?

Maureen: Yes.

Tim: Faff.

Maureen: What do you think?

Tim: I like it. I think the endive tastes nice and the dressing is good. What about you? What do you think?

Maureen: I’m not sure, but I could just be exhausted from the exertion of doing three courses in under an hour. What do you think Nicholas?

Nicholas: I didn’t have the salad. Never have, never will. Maybe I’ll be a food critic when I grow up. Either that or a movie star.

Tim: Would you make this again?

Maureen: I’ll definitely make the cauliflower macaroni again, and I’d probably do the salad too, though I doubt I’d go to the trouble of frying the capers. I’m not a huge fan of the dessert.

Tim: We need to rethink the dessert. It’s a little dry. You didn’t add any brandy, like he did, so maybe that made a difference.

Maureen: Agreed. Now on to the cleanup.

The aftermath in the kitchen. Look away now– it’s not a pretty sight.


“Cauliflower Macaroni” from “Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals”

5 thoughts on ““Cauliflower Macaroni” from “Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals”

  1. Saeeda Sanowar-Rodger says:

    Was given this book as a Christmas present. Every time I open it I think that sounds nice. Sounds like I will be doing endless washing up during and after. Sorry to see that is all too true but at least I know I could maybe be bothered to do two thirds of a 30 minute meal. Thanks!

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I definitely will make this again, but next time it’ll be just the cauliflower macaroni and the salad. The macaroni also was incredibly delicious the next day for lunch. And if I do it again, I might make it in under 30 minutes!

  3. Jaime says:

    When I made this i will admit I did not do the 3 courses. I made the mac only and it still took me the full 30 mins. Worth the effort fussy kids loved it and so yum for lunch the next day, and the day after that.

Leave a Reply

