Cookbook of the month, February 2011, Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals

Anna: You’ve had this book for a month already, haven’t you Kirstin?

Kirstin: Only a few weeks. And I’ve been told that we’ve already missed the zeitgeist on this as everyone was talking about it last month.But I’m well stressed by the crazy amount of writing on each page for the recipes.

Anna: This is the problem we had with his last book, isn’t it?

Kirstin: At least the recipes look better this time around with more variety.

Anna: And simpler, right?

Kirstin: Apart from the crazy layout I would agree…

Anna: And you’ve always wanted to make your own butter, haven’t you?

Kirstin: Oh yes! I have! Making butter has been one of my lifetime ambitions.

Anna: I watched some of the first series of this and it looked like you needed an enormous work surface because he expected you to have blenders and food processors at the ready. Who’s got that much work surface and who can be arsed? I think it would take me 30 minutes just to dig out all that equipment and wash it up every time.

Kirstin:  We’ll be timing those recipes so expect that to be part of each post.

Anna: Yes, this will be the stress test indeed. If they really are genuinely 30 minutes then I will love this book. Somehow though I don’t think it’s going to be the case.

Kirstin: I’m going to be putting on weight though with 3 courses for each meal. And I like the way he includes a bottle of wine and the like in the recipe on the side.

Anna: Do I really have to do all 3 courses?

Kirstin: Yup! Or we can’t time it. That said, I don’t want a pudding every night! Ho hum! Let’s get to it!

Cookbook of the month, February 2011, Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals

5 thoughts on “Cookbook of the month, February 2011, Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals

  1. J says:

    Ummmm, good luck, I have this book and I don’t think in any shape or form are those meals 30 minutes long, I also thought they were pretty expensive meals to, so definitely not something I’d cook from regularly, also the instructions are like you say, way too wordy. Not one of Jamie’s best I think.

    1. annastamour says:

      See, now. I just ordered my shop for next week and it’s £20 heavier for one meal, which is using a cheap cut of meat (chicken thighs) but a squillion other bits and bobs to chop about here and there. I think I’m with you on that one and I haven’t even cooked a recipe yet!

Leave a Reply

