“Stir-Fried beef with Peppers & Egg Noodles” from “Best Menus”

Tim: So what are we having tonight?

Maureen: This is stir-fried beef with peppers and egg noodles. I should tell you that I didn’t use the beef it called for, though. Gordon Ramsay wants us to use fillet for a stir-fry. Really? Fillet for a stir-fry, Gordon?? It seems as though every one of his beef recipes calls for fillet. If we were multi-millionaires like Gordon, I’d use fillet more too. But sadly we’re not.

Tim: So what did you get?

Maureen: The fine gentleman at Drings recommended that I get top rump, so I did. Of course, we spent a few good minutes talking about how silly it’d be to use fillet in a stir- fry, especially when you’re going to marinate it.

Editor’s Note: If you haven’t been to Drings Butchers on Royal Hill in Greenwich yet, go as fast as your legs can carry you. We love them. They’re a top supplier (see list on the right) and our gastronomical life wouldn’t be the same without them.

Maureen: What do you think?

Tim: It’s nothing special, but it’s good. It tastes like a stir-fry should taste.

Maureen: The sauce is slightly more complex than we’re used to, since I only usually use sesame oil to cook it in, and soy sauce to put on top.

Tim: It seems much sweeter.

Maureen: That must be the oyster sauce. Would you want me to make it again?

Tim: If I felt like making a stir fry, I’d make it again, but it’s nothing special. I don’t think I’d jump up and down and say, “Let’s have the Gordon stir-fry again!”

Maureen: I don’t think I’ve ever seen you jump up and down about anything….

Tim: Sure you have!

“Stir-Fried beef with Peppers & Egg Noodles” from “Best Menus”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.