“Baked Courgette & Wild Mushroom Risotto” from “Best Menus”

Maureen: So boys, this is from my new cookbook for the blog.

Nicholas (age 7): What’s a blog?

Maureen: Stop pretending you don’t know what a blog is. You know. Especially since I’ve had one since 2005 when we were training for the London Marathon together.

Nicholas: Oh yeah. You’re right!

Maureen: Back to the issue at hand. What did you think?

Nicholas: It’s good.

Maureen: I can’t believe no one said anything about a new cookbook.

Andrew (age 11): You have a new cookbook? Dad is going to kill you!

Maureen: There you go! That’s the sort of response I was expecting. Now, back to the risotto. What did you think? Did you like it better, the same or worse than the one I usually make? (Note: The one I “usually make” is from Giorgio Locatelli’s “Made in Italy,” which uses copious amounts of butter and cheese.)

Andrew: I prefer the other one, but I wouldn’t mind it you made it again.

Nicholas: I like it the same as the other one.

Maureen: I like that it uses baked courgettes, and that’s different. It’s not as buttery and creamy as the other one, but then again, it doesn’t use any butter, so it might be marginally more healthy.

Later the same night, after Maureen has returned from a meeting and Tim, her husband, has had a chance both to try the risotto and discover the presence of yet another new cookbook.

Maureen: What did you think of the risotto I left you?

Tim: Forget the risotto, let’s talk about your new cookbook.

Editor’s Note: Thereafter follows a long and painful discussion about the purchase of yet another cookbook, the numerous stacks of cookbooks downstairs that have yet to be shelved, whether writing for the blog was “work” and if said purchase of the cookbook would allow Tim to get another new bike. I told him that if he could find a bike for £8, which is this cookbook’s current price on Amazon, he could get himself two new bikes.

Maureen: OK. We’re done talking about that now. Back to the risotto. What did you think?

Tim: It seemed to have a lot more garlic than a usual risotto.

Maureen: That’s because you roast some with the courgettes and then add them in to the risotto. I liked that the courgettes bulked up the risotto. I was worried because I used half the rice I usually do for risotto, and I thought it wouldn’t serve us all for dinner, but once I added in the courgettes, there was plenty.

Maureen: Would you like me to make it again?

Tim: Sure, if it doesn’t involve you buying another cookbook.

Just some of the cookbooks used in the last week or given as Christmas presents that are now seeking a comfortable home on my kitchen shelves to join the other 131 already there.

“Baked Courgette & Wild Mushroom Risotto” from “Best Menus”

4 thoughts on ““Baked Courgette & Wild Mushroom Risotto” from “Best Menus”

  1. J says:

    Nothing ever wrong with too many cookbooks 🙂 and as much as I’m personally trying not to buy any more and I don’t even like Gordon Ramsay, you guys are making me want to buy this one, must control myself, must control myself . . .

    1. annastamour says:

      I’m personally still not convinced by Gordon, and having gone through the book (though admittedly not cooked from it) I don’t think there’s anything in it recipe-wise that you couldn’t find in your large collection of other books. (trying to help give you a reason not to buy it!)

  2. Maureen Stapleton says:

    I think my husband might disagree with you about too many cookbooks, but then again, he does get to enjoy the fruits of their presence. I have to say, this is a pretty good cookbook with lots of easy good recipes. The layout is pretty ingenious too– each page is divided into thirds, allowing you to see three different recipes simultaneously.

    Maybe we could start a Cookbook Addict support group!

Leave a Reply

