“Roast Loin of Lamb with a Spicy Rub”, “Spinach and Mint Orzo” and “Tiramisu” from “Entertaining at Home”

Tom: You hadn’t cooked this cut of lamb before, right?

Kirstin: I had to ask the butcher. And when I picked it up, he said are you going to be putting this on the blog? It was Drings. And I said: yeah!

Tom: I liked the lamb because it had crackling! Pork is boring but has crackling. Lamb is tasty but doesn’t. So lamb with crackling is the perfect combination.

Phil: I liked the crackling. That’s got to be the consensus view.

Kate: I liked the crusty rump.

Kirstin: I liked the gravy.

Jen: Was the icecube idea her idea?

Kirstin: Yes. It’s a great tip in the book. You decant all the fluid from the meat, put a couple of icecubes in, the fat solidifies and then it’s easy to scrape it off the top! I didn’t believe her. But it was fantastic! Magical!

Jen: Will you use it in future, even if it’s not a Rachel O’Rachel recipe?

Kirstin: Oh yes! Definitely.

Tom: And the spinach and mint and orzo was good, too. And it was a warm salad!

Kirstin: It had lots of surprise ingredients, like spring onions and mint.

Kate: It was a lovely interaction of flavours. It was quite silken.

Kirstin: There was cream. And mustard! And hidden mushrooms.

Tom: Wow. It was half-way to a risotto, even. It was lovely.

Phil: Yes, that was amazing.

Jen: It was different. It was really fragrant.

Kate: The tiramisu was delicious. Not too sweet.

Phil (fuelled by coffee): It was a fucking triumph! 12 out of 10!

Kirstin: It wasn’t too much work. Not at all. I did have to do a bit of layering. The only problem was that there was a bit of liquid left over. So I didn’t put it all in. You don’t want it swimming, like a soup.

Kate: What were the biscuits?

Kirstin: They were boudoir biscuits, soaked in coffee and rum. It was supposed to be brandy. But we didn’t have any.

Kate: I think it worked nicer with rum. It’s a really warm flavour.

Phil: Mmmm. MMMMMM.

Kate: Phil is now blissed out.

Tom: He’s too much of that fleur-de-sel chocolate. And very strong coffee. I can’t believe that coffee is putting you to sleep, Phil! It’s Nespresso’s 12/10 maximum intensity flavour!

Phil: Mmmmmm…

Kate: This looks like a lovely book.

Kirstin: It has cocktails too. And all these recipes were supremely easy.

Kate: Ooh, poached monkfish looks good. With toasted hazelnut salsa! I’m going to do fish on Christmas Eve.

“Roast Loin of Lamb with a Spicy Rub”, “Spinach and Mint Orzo” and “Tiramisu” from “Entertaining at Home”

3 thoughts on ““Roast Loin of Lamb with a Spicy Rub”, “Spinach and Mint Orzo” and “Tiramisu” from “Entertaining at Home”

  1. Kate says:

    This is a meal I would like to replicate ! All the versions of the various dishes were good – lovely flavoursome warm salad, tiramisu not too sweet… I don’t always like lamb, but this was just delicious.

  2. I?m impressed, I have to say. Really not often do I encounter a weblog that?s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough persons are speaking intelligently about. I am very glad that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing regarding this.

Leave a Reply

