“A risotto of leeks and pancetta” from “Tender Volume I”. With added oesophagus.

Kirstin: I did this because it’s an homage to the first Nigel recipe I ever cooked, my first risotto. It was mushroom and tarragon, or something. In 1994!

Miles (suddenly appearing from nowhere): Mummy, where is your oesophagus?

Kirstin: Shall I show you a picture of it? (Reaches for anatomy textbook)

Tom: I didn’t think I was going to like this. I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of leeks. But it was yum. I’ll eat anything with pancetta in it.

Kirstin: But there was so much of it! Enough for two? Two enormous people, maybe. It could easily be a starter for four. And personally I’d have put more pancetta in it.

Miles (pointing at the textbook, a gruesome book of pictures of dissected cadavers from Kirstin’s medical-school days): Is that the oesophagus?

Kirstin: No, that’s the aorta.

Tom: It’s a good thing I’ve finished eating. That’s enough to put you off your food, that is.

Miles: When somebody is opened, why is everything this colour?

Kirstin: Because that’s the colour you are inside. This is rubbish, I can’t find any pictures of the oesophagus! There’s a little bit of it there, going into the stomach.

Miles: Where’s the stomach acid? I want to see a brain!

Kirstin: Why do you want to see the brain?

Miles: Because I love the look of it! It looks like a piece of cauliflower!

Tom: Good thing this wasn’t cauliflower risotto.

Kirstin: Here we go! Look! Sliced up brain.

Miles: It looks like a piece of cauliflower!

Tom: So, cauliflower and brain risotto. How about that for a recipe?

Kirstin: With eyeballs. Look, there’s an eyeball!

Tom: So, would you do this one again?

Kirstin: No. It’s not special enough. But if I did, I’d halve the quantities, except for the pancetta, which I’d double.

Tom: You can never have too much pancetta.

“A risotto of leeks and pancetta” from “Tender Volume I”. With added oesophagus.

2 thoughts on ““A risotto of leeks and pancetta” from “Tender Volume I”. With added oesophagus.

  1. This looks lovely, gruesome details included 😆 I am experimenting with veggie pancetta, so I may well give it a go! Sorry Tom, but I love leeks, I could eat them every day!

  2. J says:

    Quite agree, can never have too much pancetta. I like your justification for not repeating the recipe due to it not being special enough, that’s a good way of putting it, there’s so many recipes out there to try, to waste that valuable cooking time on food that you discover isn’t special enough would be wrong.

Leave a Reply

