Cookbook of the month, October 2010: “Kitchen” by Nigella Lawson

Anna: Some people might ask why we’re doing another Nigella book so soon, after “Forever Summer”, Kirstin.

Kirstin: The public voted for it.  What can I say?  And we couldn’t resist Nigella’s grin on the cover.

Anna: Well.  I can actually.  That’s the weirdest photograph of Nigella I think I’ve ever seen.  I’m amazed she approved it.

Kirstin: It must be the least bad.

Anna: Going through the book there were a few photos like that.  Where it looks like the head of someone else on Nigella’s body.  And then, she looks normal in the rest.  I couldn’t keep up.  Very unsettling.

Kirstin: Do you think it’s her real kitchen?

Anna: Of course not.  I’m thoroughly envious of her comprehensive Le Creuset collection which allows matching her cast ironwear to her tops.

Kirstin: It’s true!  But, what’s all this about?  I’m not sure I like these montage photos at the beginning of each chapter.  I know what they’re trying to do, but I don’t think it works.

Anna: I think it makes it look a bit cheap.  And Nigella is not cheap.

Kirstin: No, it looks like they couldn’t decide which picture looked best.  Oh my god! I’ve got to do the Guinness gingerbread!  And the Marmite spaghetti……

Anna: I’m struggling a bit, some of the recipes seem a bit mad.  But I’m looking forward to giving it a try.

Kirstin: I’m SO glad we’re doing this book.  I like the little hearts used as bullet points in the text.  Work those boobs Nigella.  And of course Anna,  you are her looky likey.  I’m very excited.

Cookbook of the month, October 2010: “Kitchen” by Nigella Lawson

6 thoughts on “Cookbook of the month, October 2010: “Kitchen” by Nigella Lawson

  1. Katrin says:

    Great – I bought this only yesterday (£10 in sainsburys). I shall look up every recipe with glee (not the programme). Wading through the introduction at the moment.

    1. annastamour says:

      I’m not as in love with this book so far as her older books, but I’ve got the best excuse to dive in and try some of the recipes! Let us know what you cook Katrin….

  2. Naima Sanowar says:

    I promise to make some of the recipes ladies.. Cannot wait to follow your food adventures.. I heart Nigella
    x
    Naima

Leave a Reply

