‘Purple sprouting broccoli with rice noodles’ from ‘Plenty’

Anna: Here’s an easy recipe for a Wednesday night…..

Kirstin: Ho ho ho.  Though, to be fair we could have used bought green curry paste, it did say that we were allowed to.

Anna: But we didn’t think it would take that long.  And I guess that it didn’t, but when you add all the other steps it did take longer than I expected.  Of course we had to use three pans too, when probably two would have done.  Grrr.

Kirstin: Luckily you had palm sugar in your cupboard, not sure how easy that would have been to find.

Anna: And I forgot the shallot I said that I’d bring, so I had to cheat and use a couple of spring onions.  Sorry.  It was after we’d made the paste that I began to worry.

Kirstin: About what?

Anna: That there wasn’t enough of a salty element to the dish.  All very Thai with the paste and coconut milk and lime, but where’s the fish sauce?  Every self-respecting Thai-inspired recipe needs fish sauce!

Kirstin: Yeah, it tasted very sweet.  And good, but as you rightly pointed out it could have done with some chicken quite frankly.  Broccoli is nice, but it’s no substitute for a nice piece of meat.

Anna: This is what frustrated me about this recipe – I love broccoli, I love noodles, I love Thai food and yet I’m sitting here feeling slightly underwhelmed, and a little bit sick.

Kirstin: Yes!  I felt sick.  I will not be making this one again.

Peter: I’m looking forward to this meal…..

Anna: This is the second Ottolenghi recipe that’s left me feeling a little sick.  Is it the end of the month yet?

Kirstin: One week to go!!

‘Purple sprouting broccoli with rice noodles’ from ‘Plenty’

6 thoughts on “‘Purple sprouting broccoli with rice noodles’ from ‘Plenty’

  1. Peter says:

    I quite liked it, although even by my standards 2kg of it was a challenge. The sauce was a bit thin, but the broccoli added texture and I didn’t find it too sweet.

  2. annastamour says:

    I should point out a couple of things: as purple-sprouting broccoli isn’t in season we used tenderstem broccoli, and we both added fish sauce on top like you might add soy sauce. This helped bring it together a bit and reduce the sweetness.

    1. annastamour says:

      Thanks Justin! I just can’t do too much creamy sweetness when I’m eating dinner. It’s nothing fish sauce can’t sort out!

Leave a Reply

