“Pasta Risotto with Peas & Pancetta” from “Nigellissma”

Maureen (looking at Andrew’s empty bowl): Wow. You really hoovered that.

Andrew (13): I did. I like it! Is it from this month’s cookbook?

Maureen: Yes. Another Nigella offering.

Andrew: I really liked it. Please make it again.

Nicholas (9): Same! I liked it.

Maureen: I think I know why you like this so much. It’s just like the pasta that Kirstin used to always make, with pancetta and peas. The only difference is the pasta shape.

Andrew: Hey, you’re right. It is!

Maureen: It’s called “Pasta Risotto” but I think we should call it “Fake Risotto.” It’s a lot like risotto, but with orzo pasta rather than arborio rice. But we did have to do a bit of a hunt to find orzo around here.

Nicholas: You’ll never guess where we got it.

Andrew: Sainsbury’s?

Nicholas: No.

Andrew: At M&S?

Nicholas: No.

Andrew: The Coop?

Nicholas: No. The dodgiest shop in all of Greenwich!

Maureen: Well, I wouldn’t say quite that, but we did find it in a very unlikely shop. You should appreciate that no stone is left unturned when it comes to sourcing ingredients for your dinner.

7 comments
  1. Mike said:

    I found Orzo in our local mega-Tesco – it’s an “own brand” so should be widely available

    • Maureen Stapleton said:

      I know it shouldn’t be impossible to find, it just so happened that on this particular day, we found it in the last local shop we visited. However, I bought several bags, so we should be well stocked for the future.

  2. Natasha said:

    Asda sell it and sainsburys do a merchant gourmet range and tesco sell it.

    • Maureen Stapleton said:

      Thanks! Unfortunately on the day that I needed it, I couldn’t find it in any of the local shops. But I now have stocked up for the future. I just made this again last week when I was very short on time and patience. It was delicious. Again.

  3. Stevie said:

    I’ve been looking for Orzo for months! Months I tell you. Clearly my local Tesco and Sainsbury’s just aren’t large enough stores to stock it as I’ve been checking week on week. But I finally found it today in an Italian deli and I’m super excited about cooking this.

    • Maureen Stapleton said:

      I stocked up on orzo yesterday when I was at my FAVOURITE Italian deli in the world– Gennaro’s in Lewisham, for all of you SE Londoners– so we’ll be ready to have it at a moment’s notice, which will be especially handy in these hectic days running up to Christmas. For what it’s worth, Ocado also has it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 662 other followers

